CMT Artists Of The Year Honors Women

This year's CMT Artists of the Year is dedicated to the women of country music – past, present and future – and will honor Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Little Big Town's Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman, and Lady Antebellum's Hillary Scott Oct. 17. "We're evolving the special to reflect what's happening right now in culture and in the lives of our fans," says SVP/Music & Talent Leslie Fram. "In this monumental year for women, dedicating one of the biggest nights in the genre to applaud female country artists not only solidifies our commitment, but we hope will spark a much-needed change in the industry." Read more of Fram's and others' views on women in country in our recent two-part feature Equal Play: The Country Of Women here and here.