CMT Artists Of The Year Pays Tribute

Instead of award presentations, the 2017 CMT Artists of the Year will pay tribute to the victims of recent tragedies. "Given the devastation of Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria and the mass shootings in Las Vegas, we feel a commitment to our fans to address all of the tragedies not in one somber and solemn moment or segment, but rather devote the entire evening to uplifting the fans through high-spirited music," says CMT & TV Land GM Frank Tanki. "The special has always been a place where artists from different genres can stand side-by-side, and now more than ever, we want to showcase the power of unity and resilience through music." Honorees Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton and Keith Urban will perform and deliver messages of support and thanks. They'll be joined by show openers Little Big Town and Andra Day, and Lee Ann Womack and Common. Additional performers will be revealed soon. The show will air live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center Oct. 18. More here.